Albany State University recognizes Academic Achievement at 2021 Honors Day

Albany State University (ASU) recognized 1,104 students for Honors Day 2021 in a virtual ceremony. Additionally, 78 of those students have a perfect 4.0 grade point average (GPA). Honors Day serves to formally recognize and honor undergraduate students from all disciplines. These students have demonstrated excellence in academic course work and research, which reflects this year’s theme: “Honoring Excellence in Academic Achievement.”

“Achieving this honor shows the commitment, dedication and hard work Albany State University students have shown in the midst of an unprecedented pandemic. This honor elevates these students to a place of distinction within the University as they represent our best and brightest,” said President Marion Ross Fedrick.

Albany State University has continued its commitment to academic excellence and student success through additional student support services and resources. 

WALB News Anchor and on-air personality, Karla Heath-Sands served as the keynote speaker.

ASU is proud of all of the 2021 honors students, including biology major Talyia Griffen, one of the highest-ranking students with a 4.0 GPA. Earlier this year, Griffen was accepted into the Evolutionary Medicine Program at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). However due to the pandemic, the program is postponed until summer 2022.

Determined to find a program, Griffen searched diligently and found another program to apply to, the Summer Research Program in Biology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

As a result, she will participate in MIT’s 2021 summer research program as well as the UCLA 2022 program. The UCLA program provides participants a tuition-free graduate school fellowship for any graduate program for both the master’s and the doctoral. program after graduation.  

“In spite of the many challenges brought about by the pandemic, our students have worked diligently to academically succeed,” said Dr. Florence Lyons, Director of the Velma Fudge Grant Honors program.

The program can be viewed by clicking here.